Unusual June Holidays and Observances

Here are some interesting June holidays and observances. Since this is the month of my Birthday, I thought I’d share the ones I found most strange or funny.

Adopt a Shelter Cat Month

Cancer from the Sun Month (I find this particularly disturbing since a) I am fair skinned and b) my zodiac sign is Cancer)

Celibacy Awareness Month (I’m not even going to comment on that one)

Dairy Alternative Month (Yay Soy!)

“Do It Yourself” Month (Ahem, that’s for those celebrating their celibacy this month)

Dairy Month (see above? Oh well, Yay Cows!)

National Ice Tea Month (I’m a southern gal, it would be a sin not to acknowledge the “House Wine of the South”)

National Rose Month (I like pink ones, if anyone’s interested)

World Infertility Month (Hmmm, could this be related to the celibacy awareness celebration?)

National Headache Awareness Week: June 4-10 (Not tonight, Honey, I have a headache)

Superman Week: June 8-11

Meet a Mate Week: June 12-18 (Ready! Set! Date!)

Carpenter Ant Awareness Week: June 18-24 (they carry the cutest little tools)

Fish are Friends, Not Food! Week: June 26-July 2 (Does Disney know about this, that is taken directly from “Finding Nemo”)

Leave the Office Early Day: June 2 (Damnit, missed that one)

Yell “Fudge” at the Cobras in North America Day: June 2 (Huh?)

World Environment Day: June 5 (Reduce, Reuse, Recycle)

Write to Your Father Day: June 14 (Does it count if you just send him your therapy bill)

Recess at Work Day: June 15 (Can we have nap time too?)

World Juggling Day: June 17

Family Awareness Day: June 18 (who is this little person and why is he calling me “Mommy”)

National Splurge Day: June 18 (oops, I thought that was last Friday, and the Monday before that, and 4 Tuesdays ago, oh well, can’t miss such an important holiday just because I got my dates mixed up)

Garfield the Cat Day: June 19 (which of course means Lasagna for dinner)

Pee on Earth Day: June 21 (a holiday loved by men and boys and loathed by women and girls)

Let it Go Day: June 23 (this should be everyday!)

Celebration of the Senses: June 24 (Hmmm, that sounds like fun)

International Day Against Drug Abuse and Illicit Trafficking: June 26 (what a holiday to observe on my Birthday)

Decide to be Married Day: June 27 (Yeah, like it’s that easy)

“Happy Birthday to You” Day: June 27 (Damnit, one day late)

Hand Shake Day: June 28 (Please wash your hands)

Now go out there and celibate celebrate all month long!!

Found these at http://www.brownielocks.com/june.html

2 thoughts on “Unusual June Holidays and Observances

  1. Pingback: Unusual June Holidays and Observances (Take 2) « Pink Chick

Leave a Reply

