Turning 30…Happy Birthday to me!

So today is my 30th birthday. I was expecting this to be a difficult milestone to face. When I turned 25, I was devastated. Looking back, I’m not sure why but that was a very difficult birthday for me.

But on this birthday, I feel happy. Hell, I feel downright ecstatic! I’ve got a smile on my face and a positive outlook on life. I think 25 was hard because I didn’t feel like I was at a place in my life where I thought I would be at 25. Granted, I’m not where I thought I’d be at 30 either. But maybe that dreadful 25th birthday led me to the understanding that life takes you in many different directions and although you may not end up where you thought you would, where you do end up ain’t so bad, especially if you make up your mind to make the best of it.

Perhaps the build up was so great and the warnings from others (those who had passed this milestone and those that were facing it themselves) so ominous that I was expecting to wake up and feel completely different. I am completely different than I was 5 years ago (at 25) even different than I was 6 months ago. But I feel the same today as I did yesterday. And how’s that? happy, confident, pretty, proud, and loved.

I think there’s a part of me that’s actually happy to have my twenties behind me. I learned a great deal from those ten years and I wouldn’t trade my experiences for anything, but I also would not relive those ten years!

So Happy Birthday to me and to anyone else celebrating a birthday today! And for those of you turning 30, it’s not bad at all!

One thought on “Turning 30…Happy Birthday to me!

Leave a Reply

