Jackson Goes to First Grade

It doesn’t seem that long ago that I tearfully blogged about Jackson’s first day of Kindergarten here. And a year later, I find myself in exactly the same position, tearfully blogging about his first day of 1st grade.

Jackson hasn’t been terribly excited about going back to school but that soon changed.

Last week, we met his new teacher, Mrs. Adam, and saw his new classroom. They have class fish! And every week, one lucky child gets the job of zookeeper! Now let’s face it, Mrs. Adam is beautiful and what charming 6 year old boy wouldn’t want to see her every morning. So that helped turn his attitude about school around a little.

This morning as we walked into school, many friends from last year and the summer called and waved at him excitedly, quite obviously happy to see him again! We ate breakfast together in the cafeteria as a special treat. Then it was off to begin his first day of a new year! He was brave and confident. So brave in fact that I barely got a hug goodbye! I quickly waved goodbye and rushed out of the room as I felt the tears welling up.

I’ve gotten myself back together now. But I am once again counting the hours and minutes until I get a hug and hear how great his first day of school was!

I forgot to take a picture of Jax this morning before school 😦 But I will take one this afternoon or tomorrow morning and post it here.

Hope all of you with little ones going back to school did well (and of course that the kids didn’t catch you crying)! Those without little ones, take it easy on the parents today, first day of school jitters are harder on parents than the kids I’ve learned!

Leave a Reply

