Remember

How many times have you been asked “Where were you when…?”

I was at home with a broken ankle when news of the 9/11 attack began spreading.

My first thought was that I was very glad to be at home and not at my government job.

My second thought was that I was so glad that Jax was home with me and not at the sitter’s.

But the thought that I will never forget having is that I was incredibly thankful that Jackson was too young to understand what was going on.

I didn’t have to worry about trying to explain it to him at that moment. I could deal with my own fears and horror without having to allay the fears of a child. As an adult, I couldn’t comprehend what I was seeing and hearing on tv; how could I possibly find the words to explain it to a child.

Now five years later, I still can’t find the words to explain this tragedy to Jackson.

Leave a Reply

