Running on Empty

A few weeks ago, I was telling my best friend that I thought my gas light must be broken on my car. In the almost 7 years that I’ve had that car, not once has the gas light come on as a warning. But it does light up when I first turn my car on, go figure. It truly had me perplexed for all of these years.

On my way home from work last night, I desperately needed to buy gas. But I was in a hurry to get home and had plans to go back out later, so I decided to put it off. Well, one thing led to another and I ended up not going back out last night. So when I hopped in the car this morning, of course running late, I remembered that I desperately needed gas…still. I prayed to the Gas Gods the entire way to work and promised that a gas station would be my first stop at lunchtime.

When I left for lunch, my gas light was on!! So after owning my car for almost 7 years, that’s the first time I let the gas get low enough to warrant a friendly reminder. So I think that makes me a more responsible driver than I realized 😉

I kept my promise to the Gas Gods and filled up my tank!

Ok, dumb blog entry, I know. But really how many people can say that they’ve owned anything for 7 years and not known every little detail about said item?

I only know of one similar story. A cousin of mine had lived in a house for 8 years. When she sold the house, the Realtor noticed that the oven didn’t work. Turns out, it hadn’t worked the entire time my cousin lived there. But she never knew cause she never tried to use it!

Leave a Reply

