Kids and Needles

Ok, so I just found out that Jackson will have to have an IV for sedation during his MRI.

I knew he would be sedated but I really thought they would use gas to make him sleepy and then put in the IV. No such luck! He’ll be completely awake while they put the IV in and I’ll be sitting there with him.

Does anyone have any tips on how I should prepare Jax for this? Should I tell him ahead of time or just wait until we’re at the hospital? Is there anything I can do while they’re starting the IV to make it any easier on him and me?

The good news is that I can stay with him until he is completely asleep and they take him back for the actual test. And as soon as the test is over, they’ll bring me back in so I’ll be there when he wakes up. So he’s never going to know I was gone!

I hate needles (except for the tattoo variety of course) and especially IVs!

2 thoughts on “Kids and Needles

  1. I dont have kids but I always think the anticipation is worst than the actual needle. I wouldnt tell him. I hope you are feeling better.

  2. Hey Kathy!

    Here’s proof that you should be a mom! My mom, whom I think is the best mom in the entire world, said the exact same thing! She said just not to tell him anything then he’ll only have about 5 minutes to worry about it and be upset rather than days and days. Unfortunately Jackson actually asked if there would be a needle. I just told him that I didn’t know because I didn’t want to lie to him but I also didn’t want him worrying about it.

    I’m feeling much better. Still a little tired, but much better!

    Hope all is well with you! I guess Chad will be coming home very soon! Any special homecoming plans? Take care. I miss you!

Leave a Reply

