First Day

It’s hard to have a great frist day at a new job. Either you’re thrown into the middle of something and floundering to figure it out. Or, in an attempt to ease you into everything, you’re left with nothing to do. Today was the latter for me.

Here are my first impressions:

Beautiful Office! Real walls, a door, and a huge picture window. A tree and a bench are directly outside my window, a calming and comforting view. The sprinklers wash across my window first thing in the morning.

Everyone is friendly. I met so many new people today. I don’t know how I’ll ever learn all of their names. It’s been a long time since I was the new employee. I figure teachers do it every year (learning names of new students) so I can do it too!

Dress code is a tough question to answer. I was worried that JLab had been much more casual than your average office environment. Looks like I’ll be just fine with my current wardrobe. Jeans aren’t seen as often but luckily they weren’t a staple of my work wardrobe anyway. The biggest relief for me…sandals are everywhere (even on a couple of men) and toes of every shade of pink and red!

Well, that about sums up my first day. As first days go, not too bad!

Leave a Reply

