Long Weekend

Why is it so hard to return to work after a long weekend? One would think that it would be easier since you’re facing a short work week. Well, for me, this Labor Day weekend didn’t make it any easier to face work, short week or not.

We had a pretty productive weekend. Jax and I went shopping on Saturday in Frederick. We checked out some new stores and bought a few things for the house. We didn’t have any luck with the big purchases we had set out to find, a bunk bed and a futon mattress, but we had fun and found a few treasures.

Sunday we went grocery shopping. I didn’t realize how attached I was to the grocery stores in Virginia. One thing I miss most, Mary Jane Bread. I haven’t found it or anything remotely comparable anywhere up here. Prices seems to be mostly comparable to what I was used to VA, except for syrup. I haven’t figured out why syrup would cost nearly twice as much up here as it does in VA.

Yesterday, Jax and I stayed home and worked on stuff around the house. Most of the day was spent painting my old desk and chair. I don’t remember ever not having this desk set but my parents must have bought it for me when I was 4 or 5 years old. It was in desperate need of a good scrubbing and a fresh coat of paint. Jax helped me with the painting which was fun for both of us.

Due to my painting outfit (low slung capris and a tank top) and my painting posture (mostly sitting on the deck bent over), my lower back was directly hit by the sun. This patch of skin hasn’t been exposed to sunlight since high school when I was still running around in a bikini. So needless to say, I am burnt…bad! There is a band of angry red flesh directly across my dragon tattoo. OUCH!

I tried getting Jax into bed earlier last night. He was in the tub at 8pm and ready for bed by 8:30! Yay, a couple of hours of solitude before getting to bed early myself. Not so fast!! He didn’t go to sleep until nearly 11pm and I followed about 10 minutes later, exhausted from repeatedly telling him to get back in bed and go to sleep.

I need a nap…and aloe

One thought on “Long Weekend

  1. I know what you mean about the grocery stores. I really miss Farm Fresh…. They had really good produce. We have Walmart which is like torture, because several were wiped out by Katrina high priced Winn Dixie and the Commisary which is pretty small. Hope you and Jackson are doing well.

Leave a Reply

