Walk This Way

epilepsy-walk.jpg Jax and me after the walk

We raised $595.00!! My amazing co-workers put together a team to support Jax and me and they raised a whopping $2010.00!! Initial reports from the walk…$1.3 million raised! Thank you to everyone for your support!! You ROCK!

We woke up early without much trouble and made it to the metro just in time to meet up with the rest of our team. It was a brisk Spring day. The whole experience was so moving, for which I was not prepared. It was just this realization that we were here, we were making a difference, and thousands of other people were there with us, some affected by epilepsy and others just there to support those of us that are affected. It was emotionally overwhelming.

The cherry blossoms were in bloom which made for a beautiful scene along the walk. There was also a kite flying contest on the Mall. I’ve never seen so many kites in one place and it was a perfect day for flying a kite.

I will be writing an article about our experience at the walk for the company newsletter. Once it’s written (and edited a few times) I’ll post it here along with pictures of our team.

After the walk, Jax and I thanked the rest of the team and headed to the Air and Space Museum for some fun…and lunch!

2 thoughts on “Walk This Way

  1. Hi, I am so glad you were able to participate in the Walk For Epilepsy! I am the lead singer of the band, Jugglehammer, that played at The Walk. Our original song, “The Walk”, was chosen to be the theme song for the National Walk For Epilepsy, and we made a music video and documentary film that day. I hope you were able to get to the front of the crowd to be in the video. I have had epilepsy almost all my life, so this was a great day for me. Thank you for helping to make The Walk a success!

    Karie Naquin
    Jugglehammer Classic Rock and Blues Band
    Bethesda, MD
    http://www.walkforepilepsy.org
    http://www.efa.org

Leave a Reply

