PondeRINGS

I am newly engaged…yay!!

The ring Bob proposed with was too big (meaning the ring size, the diamond was just perfect). So I took it to the jeweler and had it sized down.

In announcing our engagement and showing off the ring, there were many women that said they hadn’t worn their wedding and/or engagement ring in years because they were too small and they didn’t want to or hadn’t gotten around to getting them sized to fit. This just struck me as very odd.

I understand not getting your rings sized during pregnancy with the hopes that your fingers will return to their pre-pregnancy size and the rings will once again fit…that makes perfect sense.

But…if…let’s say a year or more has passed and the rings still don’t fit…why do women choose not to have their rings sized to fit?

Let’s look at it from the other side…what if you lost weight since getting engaged and/or married and your rings are too big…would you stop wearing them or would you get them sized down to fit?

I completely understand that hope that you will eventually get back to the size you once were but we do have to be realistic. Even losing weight doesn’t mean that your body goes back to the way it was…same shape, same weight distribution.

I think we need to let go of the idea that getting our rings sized up when necessary means that we’ve given up on ever losing weight. If it is a weight thing and you end up losing the weight…then you can always get the rings sized down again. But if it’s a body change thing that no amount of weight loss will change, then why are you depriving yourself of the joy of wearing such a meaningful piece of jewelry?

I love showing off my engagement ring but, I also love looking at it myself. I tilt my hand to watch it sparkle in the light. I love the way it looks and even more, I love what it means. Something else I’ve noticed…Bob  notices me staring at my ring and I think…no I know…that he gets a thrill out of seeing me so happy with the ring he gave me.

So…take that beautiful ring out of your jewelry box and go to a jeweler and have it sized so you can get back to wearing it, enjoying it, and showing it off!

Your wedding and/or engagement ring cannot be compared to that pair of skinny jeans you’ve held onto since high school hoping that someday they will fit again.

The beautiful thing…no one has to know that you had it resized!!

Thought I should post a picture of my beautiful ring! This is Jackson holding it before I had it sized down.

2 thoughts on “PondeRINGS

Leave a Reply

